The Florida Medical Marijuana Legalization Initiative, also known as Amendment 2, was approved by voters back in 2016. While the state had previous medical marijuana laws in place, they were highly flawed. Not only was the list of qualifying patients extremely limited, they were only allowed to purchase low-THC marijuana, which cannot properly treat more severe medical conditions.
During the first few days of 2017, Amendment 2 went into effect. It not only expands the number of patients who can access marijuana, it also offers those same patients the ability to purchase more potent marijuana. While the rules and regulations of the medical marijuana system will change during the next few months and years, it is possible to get a card and purchase medical marijuana in Florida right now. Here’s what you need to know.
How Can I Get A Medical Marijuana Card?
In order to become a qualifying patient, you must have a doctor’s recommendation and a “debilitating illness,” such as:
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Parkinson’s disease
- Multiple sclerosis
- Crohn’s disease
- Chronic, non-malignant pain
- Other conditions that may benefit from marijuana (as determined by your doctor)
Note: In Florida, there are over 1,200 doctors that can currently recommend medical marijuana to patients. Check out this list if you’re currently looking for a doctor.
Once approved by a doctor, you will be entered into the state’s medical marijuana registry and must apply for a medical marijuana card, which can take up to a month.
Where Can I Get Marijuana From?
The Florida Department of Health has approved 17 dispensaries across the state, each allowed to operate 25 retail stores, where you can purchase marijuana. An in-person visit will cost about $250, plus $75 for the green card. In addition to the scarce amount of dispensaries, there are several restrictions on obtaining medical marijuana:
- You are only allowed to purchase marijuana in oil or edible form (no flowers).
- You are allowed a three, 70-day supply (which ranges from $100-$200) before you have to be reevaluated by a doctor. After 30 weeks, you must see a doctor for another reevaluation.
- Insurance does not cover marijuana prices.
- Cultivation is not allowed.
Note: Driving under the influence of medical marijuana and smoking in public is not allowed.
While medical marijuana is permitted, recreational use is still illegal in Florida—and the penalties can be harsh. If you are found guilty of possessing under 20 grams, you can face up to a year in jail. With over 20 grams, the sentence can be up to 5 years. Repeat offenders can quickly find themselves in a great deal of trouble.If you or someone you know has been arrested for marijuana, it is vital that you reach out to the Law Office of Kevin F. Moot. Our Weston drug crime lawyer can offer the legal guidance you need if you’re facing criminal charges in Florida. Contact us today!