Depending upon the nature of the weapon, it is unlawful in the State of Florida to conceal a weapon upon one's person. Individuals accused of carrying a concealed weapon face the possibility of serving 60 days in jail and paying a $500 fine.
Protect your rights! Call our Weston criminal defense attorney now at (954) 371-0770.
The definition of “weapon” includes “any dirk, metallic knuckles, slungshot, billie, tear gas gun, chemical weapon or device, or other deadly weapon.” It is also unlawful to carry a concealed “electric weapon,” which is defined as “any device which, through the application or use of electrical current, is designed, used, or intended to be used for offensive or defensive purposes, the destruction of life, or the infliction of injury.”
Interestingly, while Florida Statute prohibits the concealed carry of “electric and chemical weapons,” Florida Statute nevertheless provides for the lawful carrying of a concealed, self-defense chemical spray, as well as a concealed, nonlethal stun gun or “other nonlethal electric weapon.”
Because of the apparent inconsistency in the statutory language, it is very possible for a law abiding citizen to be wrongfully charged with carrying a concealed weapon.