Florida law defines theft as taking property from another with the intention of keeping it from the original owner or claiming ownership yourself. Depending on the details of the crime, a petit or grand theft conviction can result in a number of consequences. Take a look at the following details and learn the differences between these two crimes.
Florida law classifies petit theft as the act of stealing something “minor,” or stealing an item valued at less than $300. Although classified as a misdemeanor, a petit theft conviction can result in significant jail time and fines.
1st Degree Misdemeanor
The court classifies theft of an item between $100 and $300 as first-degree petit theft. You can also face a first-degree petit theft charge for an item with a lesser value, if you have a previous theft offense on your criminal record. Punishments can include up to 1 year in prison, and a fine of up to $1,000.
2nd Degree Misdemeanor
If the item is valued at less than $100, the crime will be classified as second-degree petit theft. If convicted, the court can issue you a fine of up to $500 and up to 6 months’ jail time.
If the item stolen is valued above $300, the state of Florida classifies the crime as grand theft. The felony has three classifications – each with their own punishments – based on the value of the items involved.
1st Degree Felony
Unlike petit theft, a variety of stipulations can affect the classification of the crime. In the case of a first-degree felony, taking property valued above $100,000 would qualify as a felony offense. Theft of shipping cargo valued above $50,000 would also be considered a felony.
First-degree grand theft is considered the most severe form of theft. If the court finds you guilty of the crime, they may sentence you to up to 30 years in prison, as well as a fine of up to $10,000.
2nd Degree Felony
Multiple offenses qualify as second-degree grand theft. If the item stolen was valued between $20,000 and $100,000, the crime involved shipping cargo valued below $50,000, or the item was taken from a medical facility or emergency vehicle and was valued above $300, the Florida courts will classify it as a second-degree grand theft crime. If convicted, the court can fine you up to $10,000, and require up to 15 years in prison.
3rd Degree Felony
The lowest degree of grand theft involves property valued between $300 and $20,000. Florida statute 893.02 classifies any theft involving a firearm, motor vehicle, or controlled substance as a third-degree felony. For committing this crime, you could face up to 5 years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.
Call Weston Theft Crime Attorney Kevin F. Moot – (954) 371-0770
If you are charged with a theft crime in Weston, you need strong legal representation. Kevin Moot has experience as a former prosecutor, which gives him the upper hand when preparing a defense for your case. He takes the time to evaluate the situation, analyze the evidence, and create a strong defensive strategy for your case.
Contact our attorney today at the Law Office of Kevin F. Moot.